Boys Under 16s

What is AFLNT Under 16s?

AFLNT Under 16s is the Territory’s representative team for male participants aged 15 and 16.

What competitions do they play in?

AFLNT Under 16s play in the National Championships in Division 2 against Tasmania, NSW/ACT and Queensland. 

When did the Under 16s squad first commence?


What have been some highlights?

Each year the squad members get the opportunity to travel interstate and compete against some of the best young footballers from across the Nation. Often going to AFL matches and observing the top level football players.

Who is the current coach?

Jimmy Driscoll 

2017 squad members:

Player #PlayerLeague Club/Local Club
1Jacon LAMPTONPalmerston FC
2Robert CAMPBELLBig River Hawks FC
3Dillen BROWNWanderers FC
4Ben JUNGFERWaratah FC
5Brandon RUSCASouthern Districts FC
6Deacon BRAUNSouth Alice FC
7Dominic FORBESFederals FC
8William GILMOURSouthern Districts FC
9Francis BRUCEPioneers FC
10Jack NELSONSouthern Districts FC
11Shawn FOSTERPioneers FC
12Maurice RIOLI (JNR)Darwin Buffaloes FC
13Marly MCGREGORNightcliff FC
14Raymond PROWSESouthern Districts FC
15Steven RORY (JNR)Big River Hawks FC
16Braith HODGESSt Mary’s FC
17Malcolm ROSASDarwin Buffaloes FC
18Deshaan GINDIKINDIElcho Island
19Joel BUDERICKBig River Hawks FC
20Jack PALMERSouthern Districts FC
21Mitch MUSGROVESt Mary’s FC
22Jackson COLEPioneers FC
23Joel STEVENSWaratah FC
24Daniel FULLERWanderers FC
25Timothy SMITHWaratah FC
26Joel JEFFREYWanderers FC
27Leonard FERREIRASt Mary’s FC
28Kaiya JONESWaratah FC
29Cody TAYLORSouthern Districts FC

2017 fixtures and results:

12 June, Blacktown International Sportspark
Tasmania 19.13 (127) d Northern Territory 6.4 (40) 

Tas: Rand 4, Peppin 3, Green 2, Dakin 2, Turner 2, Gordan 2, Paprotny, Cooke, Ireland, Chaplin
NT: Gindikindi 2, Jeffrey, Ngurruwuthun, Rusca, Palmer 

Tas: Gordan, Peppin, Reeves, Ireland, Burrow-Cheng, Dakin, Rand
NT: Brown, Braun, Rioli, Ngurruwuthun, Lampton, Rusca

11 July, Metricon Stadium
NSW/ACT 20.16 (136) d Northern Territory 1.10 (16)

NSW/ACT: Delahunty 5, Thorne 4, Barling 4, Ellem 2, McGuire 2, Swaney, Russell, Allen
NT: Gindikindi

NSW/ACT: Grant, Delahunty, Thorne, Martin, Barling, Rannan
NT: Forbes, Jungfer, Rosas, Cole, Rioli

15 July, Metricon Stadium
Queensland 17.11 (113) d Northern Territory 6.6 (42)

QLD: Tozer 5, Hewago 4, Jeffery 3, Wischnat 3, Gore, Marytn
NT: Ngurruwuthun 3, Brown, Bruce, Rioli

QLD: Fitzpatrick, Tozer, Moloney, Jeffery, Liessi, Budarick
NT: Braun, Jungfer, Lampton, Rusca, Rosas, Brown

2017 support staff:

Mat Creeper – Assistant Coach
Peter Lake – Assistant Coach
Greg Bain – Assistant Coach
Matt Campbell – Assistant Coach
Michaela Long – Team Manager
Belinda Creer – Wellbeing Coach
Jake Shannon – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Tim Fitzgerald – Physiotherapist
Jan Wray – Head Trainer
Chelsea Mulcahy – Trainer
Kathy Hutt – Trainer

How do you qualify for this squad?

Athletes are identified through local leagues and can be nominated by someone from their club. They may also invited to participate in the Under 16s program from game observation throughout the season by other officials.  

Thanks to our 2017 sponsor

Caddies Golf Club Palmerston