Photo of Bryan Moroney
Hall of fame

Bryan Moroney


A football man through and through, Bryan Moroney, hailing from South Australia, played his first grand finals at just 14 and 15 years of age.

In 1958, Bryan moved to Adelaide on a sporting scholarship, where he played for West Adelaide Football Club. After three seasons with their Seconds team, Bryan transferred to the Gawler and District Football League, winning the 1966 Kentish Award by just one point.

Relocating to Darwin, Bryan first became involved with Territory football playing for the Darwin Football Club in 1968 and was selected to play in the Northern Territory Football League (NTFL) representative team in 1969 against St Kilda Football Club.

In 1971/72, Bryan became President of the Buffaloes, and has remained a lifelong devotee of his beloved club. Blessed with strong managerial skills, Bryan was a member of the NTFL Management Committee and went on to be appointed Vice President from 1981 to 1985. After a well-earned break, he joined the NTFL Board of Directors in 1988/89 for 13 years.

In 1996/97, he served as NTFL President and in recognition of his services to football he was awarded NTFL Life Membership.

Bryan also held a number of other football affiliated administrative positions and was awarded an Australian Sports Medal for Services to Football in 2000 and an AFL Merit Award in 2002.

Bryan was a key figure in the Superules football movement both in the Northern Territory and nationally and served as the Territory’s President from 1983 to 1993; National President from 1985 to 1987 and National Vice President in 1990 and 1991.

Awarded dual Life Memberships, Bryan was inducted into the National Superules Hall of Fame in 1999 and was patron of NT Superules in 1994 and 1995.

An NTFL football identity who dedicated his life to Territory football, Bryan Moroney takes his rightful place in the AFLNT Hall of Fame.

Clubs played for
Darwin Football Club
West Adelaide Football Club
NTFL Life Membership
Australian Sports Medal for Services to Football 2000
AFL Merit Award 2002