Darryl Window
Hall of fame

Darryl Window


Darryl Window was an AFLNT / NTFL Secretary and Board Member for 25 years.

Transferring to Darwin in the early 1970's, Darryl commenced his NTFL career with the Wanderers Football Club in 1973. He represented  the NTFL against South Fremantle (WAFL) in 1973 at Gardens Oval andl also captained the Wanderers Football Club in 1973/74 the year of Cyclone Tracy.

In 1976 a crippling knee injury curtailed his football career and in 1977/78 was elected Honourary Secretary of the Northern Territory Football League.

Supported the formation of the informal “C  Grade“ competition with North Darwin, Combined Services and Wanderers Football Club, and later secretary of the NTFL strongly supported the official formation of the Northern Territory Football Association in 1978.Phil “ Bomber “ Lancaster .was the prime mover in this formation.

In 1978 iniated comport registrations for all NTFL clubs (first in Australia) with a part time registrar appointed in 1979. He was appointed 1979 Organiser /Team Manager of the NT Representative team (coached by Bob Elix) which played the Australian Amateurs at VFL Park Waverley, Victoria.

In 1981 the NTFL became a full member of the NAFC and the first full time staff appointed: Office Manager and State Director of Coaching. From 1983 to 1991,NTFL Representative discussions with the NT Government and Darwin City Council re possible relocation of the NTFL from  Gardens Oval to Football Park, Marrara.
1983 saw Window as Coordinator of National Australian Football Council Under 17 Teal Cup at Gardens Oval and also in the same year in conjunction with the Northern Territory Rugby Union coordinated a combined Australian Rules Football match - Locals v Imports at Gardens Oval the prelude to the Australia Day Representative matches against Interstate Clubs .

Window was the Chairman of Selectors for representative matches from 1984 to 2002, including the 1988 National Football League Bi Centennial Carnival, with the NT winning the Division 2 title against (Tasmania, Australian Amateurs and Victorian Football Association in the final) .

In 1990 along with late Jack Haritos ,Geoff Benger, Peter Atkinson, Hans Seggl,Michael Barfoot and other volunteers planted the original trees at Football Park Marrara (TIO Stadium).

1991 Coordinator for the National Australian Football Council Teal Cup competition held at Football Park, Marrara (first games played at the stadium).

Also in the same year was awarded the NAFC Certicate of Merit for outstanding contribution to Australian Football.
1991-1993 Host Broadcaster from AFL/NTFL 30 minute segement on 8 Top FM radio program.

1992 Co ordinated the infamous AFL pre season match Ansett Cup at Football Park Marrara between West Coast Eagles and Collingwood.

1994 Coordinator for the Aboriginal All Stars v Collingwood match at Football Park,Marrara and also the 1994 NTFL Representative match between Victorian Football Association at Victoria Park,Melbourne and also coordinated the 2003 Aboriginal All Stars match against Carlton at same venue.

Key Administrator in the formation of International Football Council at the 1995 Arafura Games in which the Arafura Games Best & Fairest was named the D D Window Medal.2000 key player in the formation of Cazalys Sporting Club, at Palmerston for benefit of NTFL football and in 2001 worked with the AFL and the NTFL Administration in re changing all official documentation/constitution re name change from NTFL to AFLNT

NTFL Secretary 1977 to 1984/85
NTFL Board Member 1985/86 to 2001/02
NTFL Life Member 1983/84
National Australian Football Council Certificate of Merit 1991
Australian Sports Medal for Sporting Achievement 2001
2009 presented with Certificate of Appreciation for outstanding contribution to Australian Rules Football by AFLNT  President Mr Bob Elix at an AFLNT 35th Anniversay  Dinner to honour the 1974 NTFL Representative team against Queensland at Kantillas Restaurant 
2003 Presented with framed NTFL Representative Guernsey from AFLNT Board for appreciation of services to NTFL/AFLNT
2009 appointed to the AFLNT Hall of Fame Committee..

Clubs played for