NT Thunder Up and Running

NT Thunder Up and Running

The NT Thunder has officially launched this evening at the Darwwin Convention Centre. Announcements of the number one ticket holder and leadership group were made.

The NT Thunder season was officially launched tonight at a function for over 250 guests at the Darwin Convention Centre.
The night was a chance to reflect on the journey that has been travelled to make a Territory Team competing in a Southern Competition a reality, as well as the playing squad being presented with their Guernseys and interviews with past NTFL greats Benny Lew Fatt and Steve “Bully” Abala.
The NT Thunder inaugural leadership group was also announced:
CAPTAIN: Jarred Illett
VICE CAPTAINS: Shannon Rusca, Iggy Vallejo
OTHER MEMBERS OF THE LEADERSHIP GROUP: Charlie Maher, Cameron Illett, Aaron Motlop, Mark Mclean

“Jarred is an outstanding player and proven leader and he will be well supported by Shannon and Iggy. We are extremely fortunate to have a high quality leadership group, one that will assist the coaching staff establish a good strong culture at the Club” said Head Coach Michael Mclean.

Chairman Paul Tyrrell also announced that Ted Egan will be the Clubs inaugural No1 ticket holder. “We are delighted that Ted Egan has accepted this appointment as he is well known throughout the Territory as a singer, songwriter, author, and passionate advocate for indigenous people. He was involved as pioneer in the development of Australian Rules football, being involved of the St Marys Football Club and his encourage of indigenous participation is well known. Ted Egan recently completed a successful four year period as administrator.”

Ted Egan gave a rousing rendition of the new Club song that he has written to conclude the evening. 

NT Thunder Membership and Sponsorship packages are still available. Brochures can be downloaded from the NT Thunder website www.territoryfc.com.au