NT Thunder kick start their 2015 NEAFL premiership campaign with an invitational training session, this Wednesday 17th December at TIO Stadium

Following on from the success of last year’s inaugural invitational training session, NT Thunder will again be holding an invitation only training and information night on Wednesday 17th December, 5.30pm at TIO Stadium. The session will provide an opportunity for players to learn more about the club, the NEAFL competition which includes four AFL reserves teams, the travel schedule and work and study commitments of being a NT Thunder player. Bench marking fitness and skills is a priority with the squad planned to perform a beep test (20 metre shuttle run test), height and weight followed by a light skills session under the guidance of NTFC Head Coach Xavier Clarke and the strength and conditioning team. The invitational squad is due recognition for individual player performances at their respective NTFL clubs so far this season.

Over the next three months the club will be finalising its list to include:
· 30 primary listed players;
· 5 remote players; and
· 5 rookie spots (U18 players).
Please note that the U18 NT Thunder squads will be announced early in the new year.
Key objectives of the formation of the squad are:
· Retainment - 85% of the 2014 list appear in the invitational squad
· Recruitment of local talent – 79% of invitational squad are local players
· Indigenous talent – 64.5% of the invitational squad are indigenous
· Targeted recruitment – identifying areas for specific recruitment to further strengthen the squad
Head Coach Xavier Clarke comments:
“The 63 players invited to Thunder training on Wednesday night present a great mixture of talent. Coming off a preliminary final loss to Sydney Swans in September, it is important that we re-sign our core group of players and reward those who have had a good NTFL season to date. One noticeable signing is Richard Tambling who will add both leadership and experience to the side.

Players such as Michael Bowden, Justin Cooper, Jarred Stokes, Thomas Motlop and Keidan Holt-Tubbs will all add great depth to the squad as we look to make the 2015 season a successful one, with additional players able to be added to the squad as the NTFL season progresses.”
The club can confirm the following departures from the 2014 squad - Sebastian Guilhaus, Brad Vassal (relocation), Pierce Liddle (relocation), Lachlan Argus (relocation) & Jake Roe-Duggan (relocation).

Click here to view the 2015 NT Thunder Invitational Squad.