Tiwi Bombers announce 2017/18 Board

Tiwi Bombers play at REC Oval

The Tiwi Bombers Football Club Board met this morning in Wurrumiyanga and ratified the Board for the 2017/18 season consisting of Gawin Tipiloura, Marion Scrymgour, Richard Tungatalum, Connell Tipiloura, Mary Dunn, Darren Harris and Dwayne Wathen.

President of the Tiwi Bombers Football Club Gawin Tipiloura said: “We’d like to thank outgoing board members Danny Munkara and Deanne Rioli for their contributions, and welcome new board members Mary, Darren and Dwayne”.

Mr Tipiloura said after the meeting he has great confidence in the board and the direction the Tiwi Bombers are taking.

In addition, Mr Tipiloura said he is “confident in the future of the club and will ensure the Tiwi Bombers Football Club is sustainable for all Tiwi people and future generations”.

Essendon Football Club representative Darren Harris said he is “humbled to be appointed to the board”.

Essendon Football Club’s initial focus on Tiwi is to establish its academy programs, with a long term commitment to the Tiwi Bombers and the sustainable development of football on the Tiwi Islands.

AFL Northern Territory CEO Michael Solomon said: “it is reassuring to see the club find an appropriate financial model that not only supports the Premier League Club but also Under 15 and Under 18 girls teams”.

Mr Tipiloura said the board had discussed in-depth the appointment of its coach for the 2017/18 season in its first meeting.

“We are confident we have found the right person and will make an announcement in the coming week”.

Competition news