Under 18 Women’s Academy starts to take shape

Pinktails in action against Big River Hawks

The NT Thunder Under 18 (U18) Women’s Academy and subsequent regional academies have been inundated with talent following the successful running of the Michael Long Cup last weekend. 

The squad includes a number of gifted bottom-age players who will be eligible for the Under 16 (U16) Girls talent programs, as well as the U18 National Academy Series games to be held in May. 

The Northern Territory U18 Women’s team is expected to play South Australia in two games during the series, with the opportunity for standout players to follow in the footsteps of Janet Baird, Calista Boyd, Jessie Brock, Madeleine Gault, Danielle Ponter, Tabitha May and Aurthurina Moreen in being selected for the Central Allies team that competes in the Division 1 National Championships. 

Manager of Talent and Pathways, Wally Gallio, said the squad was made up of promising young players from all over the Territory.

“This year more Pinktails players from Alice Springs were selected than ever before, which not only proves there is exceptional depth down there but having the bigger squad also provides our Central Australian coaches with a good base to ready players in the Redtails/Pinktails Academy for the various talent and diversity programs.  

“The NTFL and CAFL clubs along with AFLNT remote staff have done a great job in developing their players. While we have strong representation from Alice Springs, Darwin, Katherine and Tiwi Islands, we will continue to work with the other regions to ensure their players have the same opportunities to represent the Territory,” Gallio said. 

The U18 NT Thunder Women's Academy squad so far:

Big River Hawks (Katherine)
Nicole Baylis
Ayesha Kay
Talisha May

Darwin Buffettes
Molly Althouse
Mattea Breed
Dominique Carbone
Martha De Santis
Johanna Dodsworth
Anju Goninon
Tayla Hart-Aluni
Phylisia Palipuaminni
Stephanie Williams

Hannah Beadman
Jessie Brock
Meg Clohesy
Ashleigh Whittaker

Pinktails (Alice Springs)
Shoneeka Abbott
Charlotte Birch
Denika Braun
Laissa Crowby
Madison Davis-Tahere
Savannah Fraser
Johnein Furbur
Shaquiena George
Doreena Hansen
Jordyn Kindness
Janaya Kopp
Besse-Mae Renehan
Moesha McCormack
Karlila Meneri
Matisse Hunter
Monet Hunter
Moesha McCormack
Taigan Satour
Shaquille Swan
Thalia Turner
Jorja Weily
Natalie Wilson
Camille Young

Southern Districts
Bella Clarke
Maili Clarke
Indya Kinna
Naomi Madden
Ella Mulvahil
Kiyanah Toy

St Mary’s
Stevie Brown
Elouise Calma
Jerrica Heenan
Marlee Gunderson
Matilda Walker

Tiwi Bombers
Maudie Minniecon
Arthurina Moreen
Michaeline Mungatopi
Freda Puruntatameri
Kimberely Stassi

Tracy Village
Ayesha Angel
Taquila Angel
Matilda Johnson
Andi Moliere
Djimila Totham
Taylah Williams

Kiara Brown
Tishara Davern
Mickaela Derkshow
Tulaha Jeffrey
Kaylah Motlop
Lowena Mununggurrtji
Yasmin Roe
Ivanna Schober
Brenna Soares
Teka Voysey

Brooke Hayne
Sophie Hatzismalis
Alysha Healy
Joelle Kantilla
Lily Mason
Jenna Singh-Lippo

Competition news