AFLNT Hall of Fame Committee formed

AFLNT Hall of Fame

AFL Northern Territory (AFLNT) has formed a committee for the 2019 Hall of Fame and is now calling for Hall of Fame inductee nominations.

The Committee is chaired by former Darwin Buffaloes President and 2014 Hall of Fame inductee Bryan Moroney.

Other committee members include former AFLNT Board Members Andrew Gray and Jenny Sinclair, Territory sporting icon Benny Lew Fatt, historians and authors Michael Barfoot and Matthew Stephen, long serving Territory football administrator Peter Atkinson, NT News sport journalist Grey Morris, and women’s football pioneer Colleen Gwynne.

The last AFLNT Hall of Fame event was held in 2014 after the inaugural event in 2010 and subsequent event in 2012. The committee has recommended the 2019 induction would include up to 15 inductees and post the 2019 induction, an event to be held every three years with up to ten inductees from thereon in. 

Moroney said the committee reflected a broad range of the football community each bringing great knowledge of the game and its history.

“I am extremely pleased to be working with the committee and look forward to receiving inductee nominations. 
“Nominations can be for players, administrators, umpires, media and coaches and require information to be submitted listing important details including years of service/games played and awards as detailed on the official form” - download official form HERE.

“Football is the fabric of life in the NT and the wider sporting community will be excited and passionate about the next lot of inductees.

“We’ve seen Territory football royalty names such as AhMat, Bonson, Jeffrey, Long, McLean, Motlop, Rioli and list the goes on inducted over the years and it’s really exciting to begin the process to welcome the new crop”

Nominations for 2019 need to be submitted by close of business Monday 3 December 2019 while the date and location of the AFLNT Hall of Fame event will be announced at a later date.

Competition news