U16 Men’s NT Thunder Academy Round 1 team named

Number 3 kicking the ball

The U16 Men’s NT Thunder Academy team has been named to take on NSW/ACT in Blacktown for Round 1 of the 2018 U16s Men’s National Championships.
The squad will converge on Sydney on Sunday as is made up of players from many regions of the NT.

Kyrell Barton and Lachlan Dunemann from the Barkly region as well as Stanley Tipiloura from the Tiwi Islands are exciting inclusions to the side.
There are five players from Alice Springs including tough contested ball winner Deacon Braun, Frances Bruce, Reggie Gallagher, Jamal Lynch and Josiah Munster.
They will be joined by Katherine’s Robbie Campbell, who is known to coaches for his football smarts and tireless work rate.
Football talent runs in the bloodline of some of the Territory boys named: Maurice Rioli Jnr is the son of the late Richmond legend Maurice Roli and Brayden Rioli is the young brother of current Richmond player, Daniel Rioli.
Clarence Baird is another talented footballer who will add depth to the team and his inclusion comes off the back of winning the U16s Hickman Medal during the 2017/18 NTFL season.
AFLNT Development Coach, Matt Campbell said he has been impressed with everyone’s work rate and sees no reason why the NT can’t be successful at the national champs.
“Everyone’s training preparations have been really solid and the squad is reflective of the training bases we have set up in all regions of the NT.
“After seeing how well the boys performed during last week’s testing I was left with the tough decision of narrowing down the talented squad to only 23 players to take to Blacktown,”
“We have a very talented squad this year and I believe they have what it takes to come home with the win,” said Campbell. 
U16 Men’s National Championships – ROUND 1
NT Thunder vs NSW/ACT
2.30pm AEST Monday 11 June
Blacktown International Sports Park (BISP), Blacktown, NSW

B: Max Palmer, Braith Hodges, Waylon Walters
HB: Luke Roberts, Clarence Baird, Jamal Lynch
C: Lachlan Dunemann, Deacon Braun, Jacob Long
HF: Francis Bruce, Joel Jeffrey, Stanley Tipiloura
F: Brett Johnson, Kyrell Barton, Maurice Rioli
FOLL: Reggie Gallagher, Tyrrell Lui, Brodie Lake
INT: Brayden Rioli, Jonty Patrick, Robbie Campbell, James Box, Josiah Munster