AFLNT Hall of Fame date set

Hall of Fame 2019

The AFL Northern Territory (AFLNT) Hall of Fame event will be held on Saturday 2 November 2019.

After the first Hall of Fame event was held in 2010, it’s been five years since the last inductees were announced which included big names like Joe Daby, Eddie Fry, Gilbert McAdam and Andrew McLeod.

The Hall of Fame Committee was led by former Darwin Buffaloes President and 2014 Hall of Fame inductee Bryan Moroney and they met numerous times since first forming in December 2018.

There are six nomination categories including Player, Umpire, Coach, Media, Administrator and Specific Game or Team.  

Moroney indicated the number of inductees would increase from previous events to account for the time between AFLNT Hall of Fame events being held.

“We received many worthy nominations and the Committee had a tough task of narrowing down the final inductees for 2019.

“We are looking forward to this special event, the first in five years, which will welcome the next crop of inductees, more than usual, and pay respect to their footballing achievements and successes,” he said.

AFLNT CEO Stu Totham thanked the Committee led by Moroney and said he was looking forward to celebrating the night.

“The Committee has done a fantastic job in their selections for one of the most prestigious events on the NT sporting calendar and we’ve been looking forward to this for a number of years.

“I can’t wait to be in the room on Saturday 2 November amongst Territory football royalty,” he said.

Venue and ticket details will be released at a later date.