AFLNT welcomes Gold Coast SUNS Academy to Darwin region

Gold Coast Suns to have Darwin as an academy zone

AFL Northern Territory (AFLNT) welcomes today's announcement from the AFL Commission that will see the Darwin region provisioned to the Gold Coast SUNS as an academy zone.

This is in addition to the five existing Next Generation Academy zones that already exist in the NT; Alice Springs (Melbourne), Barkly (Collingwood), West Arnhem (Essendon), East Arnhem (Geelong Cats), Katherine (Hawthorn).

The assistance package the AFL Commission has provided to the SUNS for the next three years will also mean Darwin-based players who are signed to the Gold Coast Suns Academy may be pre-signed to the club's senior list without bidding.

AFLNT continues to work with the AFL and other parties to finalise plans to ensure clear and open pathways exist for Territorians to get onto AFL lists and will be in a position to detail full plans next week.