Roberts wins second Williams Medal

Lisa Roberts pictured with Brenda Cubillo and the Williams Medal

Six years after claiming her first Williams Medal for being best on ground in the 2012/13 NTFL’s women’s grand final, Waratah captain Lisa Roberts was bestowed the honour for a second time at the weekend. 

Roberts, the captain of the Tahs, performed at her usual high standards in her team’s 3.3.21 to 0.3.3 victory over Southern Districts. 

She was a general in defence, constantly repelling the Croc attacks, especially when the heavens opened, and the conditions suited the Districts players better. She was also spotted higher up the ground, where she was worked just as hard to generate forward opportunities for the Tahs.

The TIO Williams Medal panel made up of Rosanna De Santis, Charlie King and Heidi Thompson collectively awarded Roberts 9 votes, which was two clear of another former-winner, Ebony Miller from Southern Districts and three ahead of a trio of players, which included last season’s Williams Medal winner, Madeline Gault. 

Each panellist voted 5-4-3-2-1 for five separate players they believed had the greatest positive impact on the game.

The final results of the 2018/19 TIO Williams Medal were:

Lisa Roberts – Waratah – 9 votes
Ebony Miller – Southern Districts – 7 votes
Sharona Bishop – Waratah – 6 votes
Madeline Gault – Waratah – 6 votes
Tayla Thorn – Southern Districts – 6 votes
Sue Nalder – Waratah – 5 votes
Alicia Stanley – Waratah – 3 votes
Alysha Healy – Waratah – 2 votes
Bella Clarke – Southern Districts – 1 votes

Competition news