Waratah still ahead in $7,000 Club of the Year Award

Club of the Year leaders at Round 16

After Round 16 of 2018/19 TIO NTFL season, the Waratah Football Club is still out in front in the Statewide Super Club of the Year Award which could see them pocket the $7,000 cash prize.

Sitting on 118.3 points, Waratah leads the way in behaviour aspects for the Big Club division which pairs well with the consistent results the Tahs are achieving on field and with the documents they have already provided that form part of the strong club criteria. 

It’s also good news for St Mary’s (93.5 points), who have retained second place with the best on-field performance ranking of all the ‘Big’ clubs. In a little bit of a shuffle for third, Palmerston (89.9 points) has taken over from Nightcliff by obtaining maximum points in the strong club section.  

In the Small Club division the Tiwi Bombers has taken over top spot on 106.7 points and are now in prime position to claim the $2,000 first prize. 

The Jabiru Bombers have slipped to second but are only just over 10 points behind on 96.3, while Banks remains in third place on 73.5 points.

With only two rounds remaining, AFLNT Manager of Community Football Rosanna De Santis encouraged clubs to submit their paperwork. 

“At this point in the season everyone wants to get the wins and do all they can to secure a finals berth but thanks to Statewide Super there’s as much incentive to make sure you are as well prepared off the field.   

“Over the next couple of weeks, we will be closely auditing the components in the behaviour criteria to make sure we haven’t missed anything or haven’t included something we shouldn’t have. 

“However, the area where clubs can give themselves the best opportunity is certainly the strong club section, as that is all about good governance and planning. We will be accepting documents relating to the strong club criteria until the close of business on Monday 18 February, so I hope to see lots of paperwork hitting my desk between now and then,” she said. 

For the 2018/19 Statewide Super Club of the Year Award, any club with eight or more teams was put into the Big Club division, and any clubs with seven or fewer teams were put into the Small Club division.

Each division has its own prize money and the total prize pool for season 2018/19 is $15,500. The winners will be announced at the Nichols Medal event on Sunday 10 March. 

The criteria for both the Big Club and Small Club is the same and can be found online here: https://www.aflnt.com.au/competitionsntfl/ntfl-club-of-the-year-award 

Statewide Super Club of the Year 
Leaderboards as of Thursday 7 February 2019

Big Club Division

1st prize - $7,000
2nd prize - $3,000
3rd prize - $2,000

Club on field performance strong club behaviour running total
Waratah 55.8 142.5 - 80 118.3
St Mary's 63.5 140 - 110 93.5
Palmerston 44.9 175 - 130 89.9
Nightcliff 54 162.5 - 140 76.5
Wanderers 43.4 135 - 130 48.4
Southern Districts 52.5 125 - 130 47.5
Darwin Buffaloes 54.3 127.5 - 180 1.8

Small Club Division

1st prize - $2,000
2nd prize - $1,000
3rd prize - $500

Club on field performance strong club behaviour running total
Tiwi Bombers 34.2 82.5 - 10 106.7
Jabiru 68.8 47.5 - 20 96.3
Banks 63.5 60 - 50 73.5
Big River Hawks 27.6 55 - 30 52.6
PINT 45.7 62.5 - 60 48.2
Tracy Village 15.9 72.5 - 60 28.4
University Rats 50 27.5 - 60 17.5

Competition news