We're ready to celebrate 70 years of the Nichols Medal

Nichols Medal preview

The 2018/19 TIO NTFL season’s night-of-nights will take place this Sunday 10 March when the Nichols Medal is held at SKYCITY. 

Amongst many individual accolades, the night will also celebrate 70 years since the Nichols Medal was named after Joseph Wesley Nichols. 

JW Nichols’ connection to local football was extraordinary.  He first began playing football for Rovers in the 1925/26 season, moved into administration for the club, then the league - serving as NTFL Secretary for 10 seasons from 1932/33 to 1941/42, and NTFL President for five seasons from 1948/49 to 1952/53.

During his 30-year football career, he filled many other roles including club secretary, club delegate, NTFL goal and boundary umpire, NTFL steward and even acted as a club stretcher bearer.

In recognition of his services to football, the former President's Medal for the Best & Fairest player in the NTFL was renamed the Nichols Medal from the 1948/49 season. 
Along with awarding all the best and fairest players across the different senior divisions the leading goalkickers in each will also be acknowledged.

The Nichols Medal (Men’s PL), Gwynne Medal (Women’s PL), Mitch Lee Medal (Men’s Div 1) and Lancaster Medal (Men’s Div 2) are the main awards on the night. There will also be the crowning of the Statewide Super Club of the Year, along with recognition of an outstanding club volunteer and due acknowledgement of the best umpire and the male and female rising stars.    

Thanks to Virgin Australia and the AFL, the winner of the Nichols Medal and Gwynne Medal each receives two return flights and two tickets to the 2019 Toyota AFL Grand Final. 
As is customary every season, it is the umpires who vote 3-2-1 on the best performers following each game of the home and away season and the votes are tallied to reveal a winner. In the instance of two or more players finishing with the same votes then multiple winners will be declared. 

Any player found guilty of an offence and suspended for a period of matches during the 2018/19 season is ineligible to win the Nichols Medal, Gwynne Medal, Mitch Lee Medal or Lancaster Medal. 

However, players who served match suspensions are still eligible to win sponsored awards.  

Arrivals will start from 5pm, with the announcement of the Gwynne Medal expected around 9pm and the Nichols Medal at approximately 9:45pm. Stay tuned to the NTFL Facebook page for winners as they're announced, or check back on the AFLNT website for all the news at the end of the night.  

The following awards will be presented at the 2018/19 Nichols Medal:

Nichols Medal – Men’s Premier League
Gwynne Medal – Women’s Premier League
Mitch Lee Medal – Men’s Division 1
Lancaster Medal – Men’s Division 2

Dennis Dunn Leading Goalkicker – Men’s Premier League
Women’s Leading Goalkicker
Men's Division 1 Leading Goalkicker
Men's Division 2 Leading Goalkicker

Kennards Hire Volunteer of the Year
Statewide Super Club of the Year
NT News Rising Star
Women’s Rising Star
NT News/Darwin Business Machines Player of the Year
ABC Player of the Year
ABC Umpire of the Year

Competition news