Rep footy inches closer as more key appointments are locked in

Old Rep Jumper

The double header Territory representative games against Glenelg are fast approaching as new key personnel appointments are locked in ahead of 23 January 2021.
The NT Representative Football Committee met in early November to create the selection philosophy behind finding the right people for leadership and player roles. The philosophy is led by an aim to inspire young NTFL footballers to play at the highest level by selecting the best players available who are committed to the NTFL competition.
The philosophy provides a guide to list emerging draftable talent who currently play for a Premier League team, while also seeking to engage Territory based AFL and AFLW players. Players must be residing in Darwin to be eligible for selection and squads must not exceed 40 players.
“We are excited to take another step closer to the return of rep footy in the Territory by appointing the Chairperson of Selectors for both the men’s and women’s side along with a number of other key roles,” AFL Talent Manager NT Simon Hargrave said.
“Our best men and women will get a chance to represent the Territory at the state level for the first time in 15 years, see what the Glenelg players have to offer and hopefully bring a ripper game to our spectators.”
NTFL Premiership Coach and former Brisbane Lions player Shannon Rusca has been appointed Chairperson of Selectors for the men’s side and will lead the group who decides which of the Territory’s best footy players will take on the 2019 SANFL premiers.
Brenton Toy, Anthony Vallejo and Ryan Ayers have been selected to form the assistant coaches panel, with head coach Chris Baksh scouting with an aim to get all clubs involved.
Female Territory football icon and advocate Colleen Gwynne will take on the Chairperson of Selectors role for the women’s side, while Tarmon Elliott is finalising his coaching panel with announcements to be made shortly.
Other key appointments to date include:
Chairperson of selectors – Shannon Rusca
Head coach – Chris Baksh
Assistant coach (midfield) – Brenton Toy
Assistant coach (defensive) – Anthony Vallejo
Assistant coach – Ryan Ayers
Bench coach – Jeff Harvey
Bench coach – Matt Cannard
Coaches boards – Shannon Millar
Strength and conditioning coach – Rob Moore
Runner – Jarred Ilett
Team manager – Leith Waterbury
Chairperson of selectors – Colleen Gwynne
Head coach – Tarmon Elliott
Assistant coach – Colleen Gwynne
Strength and conditioning coach – Rob Moore
Team manager – Helen Braam
Initial squads will be announced in early December with the highly anticipated first training session taking place on 9 December 2020.

Competition news