Tedcastle’s stunning double, Sowry and Whittaker’s joint win highlight the NTFL Youth Awards

Winners at the 2019/20 NTFL Youth Presentation

St Mary's goalkicking prodigy Beau Tedcastle has completed a remarkable double at the TIO NTFL Youth Presentation this afternoon, while the Under 18 Girls best and fairest saw a tie for the first time when Kaitlyn Sowry (Southern Districts) and Kaitey Whittaker (Palmerston Magpies) were named joint winners.

Tedcastle took out the Abala Medal for the best and fairest player in the Under 18 Boys division, as well as winning the competition's leading goalkicker award.

What makes the feat so impressive is that the Saints forward is just 15-years-old and is still eligible for the Under 16 competition.
Tedcastle, who polled 18 votes in total, was named in his side's best eight times for the season and stormed home in the final three rounds to break away from Southern Districts' Jamieson Kerle who finished runner-up on 16 votes.
The classy marksman finished with a staggering 82 goals for St Mary's in just 16 games to claim his third consecutive leading goalkicker award, having previously won the title in Under 16 Hickman and Under 14 Gunderson the last two seasons.
This season's tally included single hauls of 11 and 10 for the young gun, who is known for his speed and accuracy around the big sticks.
In the Girls Under 18 division, Sowry and Whittaker made history by becoming the competition's first-ever joint winners.
The pair tied on 18 votes in a thrilling vote count, four votes clear of the rest of the pack.

Sixteen-year-old Whittaker, who finished runner-up in the same award last season, also picked up the Under 18 Girls Leading Goalkicker for the second consecutive season.
She played 14 games in 2019/20 and polled votes in seven of them, including four best on ground performances.
After playing one game in 2017/18, 18-year-old Sowry returned this season and made an immediate impact, collecting 16 of her 18 votes between Rounds 2 and 8.
She then played a further three games to finish off season 2019/20, and her two votes in Round 18 got her to the joint-win.
In the other awards presented at the Youth Presentation, Southern Districts' Tom Demamiel took out the Under 16 Hickman Best and Fairest Award with a total of 17 votes, holding off the division's leading goalkicker and last season's Under 16 best and fairest, Anthony Puruntatameri.

Demamiel played 11 games for the season, kicked 10 goals and led the race for the title from the start. Puruntatameri played 12 games and booted 49 goals; including 11 in one match.
In her first season playing for Waratah, 14-year-old Annabel Kievit claimed the Under 15 Girls Sharyn Smith Medal with an impressive 21 votes, while teammate Natasha McAllister took out the Under 15 Girs Leading Goalkicker Award with 39 majors for the season.

Kievit played 10 games for the season, collecting votes in eight of them. More impressively, she received six lots of the maximum three votes, the equal highest number of any of the winners today. Both Kievit and McAllister, with her 11 games and goal hauls assisted the Tahs to go through the season undefeated, in preparation for next Saturday's grand final. 
In his first season of footy, Waratah's Clay Shadforth enjoyed a season to remember in the Under 14 Gundersen, to win not only the Gundersen Best and Fairest Award, but also the competition's Leading Goalkicker

The 13-year old polled strongly in the opening rounds and finished with six best on ground performances, the equal most with Kievit, compared to all the other youth award winners. He also kicked a goal in every one of his nine games to finish with a tally of 41 for the season. 
In the Under 14 Lew Fatt division, Vaughn Swanepoel from Banks took out the Lew Fatt Best and Fairest Medal with 13 votes in his first season of footy. Playing 10 games for the season, he polled in half of them. 
Palmerston Magpies' Max Antella won the Lew Fatt Leading Goalkicker Award, kicking 20 goals for the season including a bag of five in Round 16.
AFLNT congratulates all winners on their outstanding performance in the 2019/20 TIO NTFL season.
The Nichols Medal for the senior divisions will take place next Sunday 8 March. 

Winners at 2019/20 NTFL Youth Presentation:

Under 18 Boys
Beau Tedcastle – 18 votes (Abala Medal) – St Mary's Football Club
Beau Tedcastle – 82 goals – St Mary's Football Club

Under 18 Girls
Kaitlyn Sowry and Kaitey Whittaker – 18 votes – Southern Districts Football Club and Palmerston Magpies Football Club
Kaitey Whittaker – 28 goals – Palmerston Magpies Football Club

Under 16 Hickman
Tom Demamiel – 17 votes – Southern Districts Football Club
Anthony Puruntatameri – 49 goals – Wanderers Football Club

Under 15 Girls
Annabel Kievit – 21 votes (Sharyn Smith Medal) – Waratah Football Club
Natasha McAllister – 39 goals – Waratah Football Club

Under 14 Gundersen
Clay Shadforth – 25 votes – Waratah Football Club
Clay Shadforth – 41 goals – Waratah Football Club

Under 14 Lew Fatt
Vaughn Swanepoel – 13 votes – Banks Bulldogs Football Club
Max Antella – 20 goals – Palmerston Magpies Football Club 

Competition news