Four standout Territory U19 Girls selected in 2021 Allies Squad


After a competitive showing across the 2020/21 TIO NTFL season and during the U19 NAB League game over the past weekend, four Territory U19 Girls have been selected to join the Allies Squad ahead of the 2021 NAB AFLW U19 Championships next month. 

The U19 Allies team is made up of players from NSW/ACT, Tasmania and Northern Territory.

Ashanti Bush, Kasey Marsden, Grace Mulvahil and J’Noemi Anderson will travel to Melbourne ahead of their training camp preceding their National Championships games on Monday 12 and Thursday 15 April. 

AFLNT Talent Manager Simon Hargrave said the players selection was reward for their performance across the past year. 
“This is a great opportunity for the girls to play representative footy against some of the best players from Western Australia and South Australia and to showcase our talent.

“Some of our NT players have some good representative experience, for example 16-year-old dual All-Australian J’Noemi has not only previously represented the Territory but was also selected in the U15 Victorian Metro side. 

“Ashanti is also no stranger to representative footy after being selected in the NAB AFLW Academy squad this year and kicking a couple of goals in last week’s U19 NT Thunder Academy game against Greater Western Victoria Rebels.

“There are also some highly skilled players selected to play in the team for the first time which will make for a good combination of experience.”

This is the first time Grace Mulvahil and Kasey Marsden have been selected for National Championships.  
NT Thunder U19 Men’s Assistant Coach and Nightcliff’s TIO NTFL Women’s Premier League Coach Shannon Miller has been appointed Assistant Coach of the Allies. 

Three Territory Umpires will also take the national stage after strong performances over the 2020/21 TIO NTFL season.

Brodie Morcom was selected as part of the field umpiring team, Kyriakos Lambrindidis will be behind the goals and Golden Whistle Award Winner Darien Blair will boundary umpire at the National Championships.