Northern Territory Volunteer Awards


AFL Northern Territory is delighted to announce the following Northern Territory Volunteer of the Year Award recipients.

You are the unsung heroes of our game and your work to progress our sport is very much appreciated.

Congratulations to all Territory winners listed below: 

AFL National Community Umpiring Service
Daryl Grahek, BRFL and Katherine Umpires Association 

NAB AFL Auskick Volunteer
Nick Twelftree, NTFL Banks Bulldogs Football Club

Toyota AFL Community Football Volunteer 
Rebecca Dunbar, NTFL Darwin Buffaloes Football Club

AFL Diversity Ambassador 
Malcom Hales, Barunga School

AFL Junior Coach
Jason Grace, NTFL Southern Districts Football Club

AFL Primary School Ambassador 
Eilish McCluskey, Gray Primary School 

AFL Secondary School Ambassador
Ben Johns, NT Catholic School

AFL Senior Coach
Graham Christmas, CAFL Rovers Football Club

AFL Disability Inclusion Volunteer
Nathan Mac, Alice Springs Wellbeing Wednesday Program

The National Volunteer of the Year Awards are presented by Toyota as Premier Partner of the AFL, and as proud supporters of Australia’s game, men and women, young and old, from the grassroots to the elite.

All Auskick Centres, Schools, Community Clubs and Leagues were invited to nominate an outstanding volunteer as part of the Toyota AFL National Volunteer Awards.

The AFL received over 600 Nominations nationally, recognising the significant contribution our volunteers give to the game, right across the industry.

These volunteers may have contributed to the completion of a major or significant project throughout the year, gone above and beyond throughout COVID affected season or they may be someone who has contributed to a number of roles over a long period.

National Club and Volunteer Support Manager, Alex Burgin:

“The AFL are so incredibly grateful to each and every one of our 220,000 community football volunteers, the unsung heroes who work tirelessly to progress our great game in various capacities – at community clubs, leagues and across every Auskick centre.

”Through a difficult season in many states, the quality of nominations shows how local AFL clubs, are determined to continue working through the hurdles and achieve amazing outcomes and excellent AFL experiences for our community.”

National Winners will be announced in Mid-September.

AFL Northern Territory will promote our very worthy winners and their stories over the next few weeks across its social media channels.