Men's Under 16s

What is NT Thunder Academy Under 16s?

NT Thunder Academy Under 16s is the Territory’s representative team for male participants aged 15 and 16.

What competitions do they play in?

Nt Thunder Academy Under 16s play in the National Championships in Division 2 against Gold Coast, NSW/ACT and Queensland. 

When did the Under 16s squad first commence?


What have been some highlights?

Each year the squad members get the opportunity to travel interstate and compete against some of the best young footballers from across the Nation. Often going to AFL matches and observing the top level football players.

Who is the current coach?

Jimmy Driscoll 

2018 Under 16 Championships fixtures and results:

2.30pm Monday 11 June
NT Thunder vs NSW/ACT
Blacktown International Sports Park (BISP), Blacktown, NSW

10am Tuesday 10 July
NT Thunder vs Gold Coast
Gold Coast, QLD

12.15pm Saturday 14 July
NT Thunder vs Queensland
Brisbane, QLD

How do you qualify for this squad?

Athletes are identified through local leagues and can be nominated by someone from their club. They may also invited to participate in the Under 16s program from game observation throughout the season by other officials.  

Thanks to our 2018 sponsor