Men's Under 18s

What is NT Thunder Academy Under 18s?

NT Thunder Academy Under 18s is the Territory’s representative team for male participants aged 17 and 18

What competitions do they play in?

NAB League
NAB AFL U18 National Championships (Allies)

When did the NT Thunder Academy Under 18s squad first commence?


What have been some highlights?

Seeing players who have gone on to be drafted in AFL. In 2017 Zac Bailey (Brisbane Lions) was drafted. while other past players such as Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn), Xavier and Raphael Clarke (St Kilda), Daniel Rioli (Richmond), Jed Anderson (North Melbourne), Steven Motlop (Geelong Cats) and Nakia Cockatoo (Geelong Cats) have also been drafted after coming up through the Thunder Academy ranks.

Who is the coach?

Jason Roe

2019 squad members

First name Last name DOB Club
Braxton Ah Mat 24/05/2000 St Mary's FC
James Box 19/09/2001 Wanderers FC
Deacon Braun 19/06/2001 Wanderers FC
Sandy Brock 9/11/2002 Palmerston FC
Francis Bruce 24/09/2001 Pioneer FC
Joel Budarick 25/09/01 Pioneer FC
Jackson Cole 2/07/2001 Pioneer FC
Michael Cooper 5/11/2002 Tiwi Bombers FC
Stephen Cumming 22/07/2000 Frankston FC
Matthew Cumming 22/07/2000 Frankston FC
Mick Derrick 9/07/2001 Wanderers FC
Wade Derksen 18/06/2001 Nightcliff FC
Alex Emmett 19/07/2000 Federal FC
Ronald Fejo (Jnr) 16/12/2001 Wanderers FC
Leonard Ferreira 20/01/2001 St Mary's FC
Dominic Forbes 5/03/2001 Fedral FC
Shawn Foster 1/09/2000 Southern Districts FC
Matthew Green 5/05/2000 Sporty Spitfires FC
Braith Hodges 15/10/2002 St Mary's FC
Johann Jack 23/01/2001 Nightcliff FC
Joel Jeffery 3/12/2002 Wanderers FC
Ben Jungfer 6/08/2001 Waratah FC
Kynan Kenny 9/08/2002 Wanderers FC
Brodie Lake 16/05/2002 Southern Districts FC
Jacob Long 27/03/2002 St Mary's FC
Tyrell Lui 6/02/2002 Wanderers FC
Jamal Lynch 23/03/2002 Wanderers FC
Luke MacDonald 1/09/2000 St Mary's FC
Marly McGregor 16/12/2001 Nightcliff FC
Brendon Minkulk 15/05/2001 Waratah FC
Mitch Musgrove 19/07/2001 St Mary's FC
Beau O'Connell 24/10/2001 Wanderers FC
Jonty Patrick 9/11/2002 Palmerston FC
Simon Richardson 23/07/2001 St Mary's FC
Brayden Rioli 29/04/2002 St Mary's FC
Maurice Rioli (Jnr) 9/01/2002 St Mary's FC
Malcolm Rosas (Jnr) 27/06/01 Darwin Buffaloes FC
Brandon Rusca 11/05/2001 Southern Districts FC
Joseph Salmon 15/07/2001 Wanderers FC
Isaac Seden-Kurnoth 18/02/2002 Darwin Buffaloes FC
Jeffrey Simon 2/12/2001 Tiwi Bombers FC
Joel Stevens 13/05/2000 Waratah FC
Dray Thompson 4/02/2001 Wanderers FC
John Tipiloura 12/06/2002 Wanderers FC
Stanley Tipiloura 27/12/2002 Wanderers FC
Tyson Woods 14/03/2001 Federal FC

2019 NAB League fixtures and results:

2.20pm Saturday 30 March
NT Thunder vs Gold Coast Suns
Blacktown International Sportspark (BISP), Blacktown, NSW

Gold Coast Suns 12.10.82 defeated NT Thunder 5.8.38


NT Thunder: Michael Cooper, Wade Derksen, Matthew Cumming, Steven Cumming, Maurice Rioli (Jnr)


NT Thunder: Ben Jungfer, Jonty Patrick, Maurice Rioli (Jnr), Brandon Rusca, Brodie Lake 

1pm Sunday 7 April
NT Thunder vs Tasmania
Holden Centre, Melbourne, VIC

Tasmania 13.14.92 defeated NT Thunder 6.8.44


NT Thunder: Beau O'Connell 3, Wade Derksen, Dominic Forbes, Joel Jeffrey 


NT Thunder: Beau O'Connell, Ben Jungfer, Brandon Rusca, Isaac Seden-Kurnoth

2.30pm Sunday 14 April
Western Jets vs NT Thunder
Port Gellibrand Oval, Williamstown, VIC

Western Jets 18.24.132 defeated NT Thunder 9.7.61


NT Thunder: Braxton Ah Mat 3, Tyson Woods 3, Wade Derksen, Stephen Cummings, Beau O'Connell


NT Thunder: Marly McGregor, Tyson Woods, Braxton Ah Mat, Ben Jungfer, Stephen Cummings, Joel Stevens

2pm Sunday 28 April
Greater Western Victoria Rebels vs NT Thunder 
Windy Hill, Essendon, VIC

Greater Western Victoria Rebels 17.10.112 defeated NT Thunder 8.9.57


NT Thunder: Tyson Woods 3, Matthew Cumming 2, Beau O'Connell 2, Jamal Lynch


NT Thunder: Ben Jungfer, Beau O'Connell, Leonard Ferreira, Stephen Cumming, Matthew Cumming, Joel Jeffrey

2pm Sunday 5 May
NT Thunder vs Northern Knights 
Ikon Park, Carlton North, VIC

Northern Knights 15.8.98 defeated NT Thunder 9.6.60


NT Thunder: Matthew Cumming 2, Shawn Foster 2, Malcolm Rosas 2, Ronald Fejo, Beau O'Connell, Stanley Tipiloura 


NT Thunder: Shawn Foster, Joel Jeffrey, Braxton Ah Mat, Ben Jungfer, Malcolm Rosas, Brodie Lake

National representation

Four boys were given 2019 Allies squad selection:

  • Joel Jeffrey
  • Ben Jungfer
  • Beau O'Connell
  • Malcolm Rosas Jnr

Allies 2019 fixture and results:

Allies vs Vic Country
1:30pm Sunday 9 June
Launceston, Tasmania

Allies 2.7.19 defeated by Vic Country 18.8.116

NT representatives: Malcolm Rosas


Allies vs Western Australia
10:30am Saturday 22 June
Alberton Oval, Adelaide

Allies 5.13.43 defeated by Western Australia 10.8.68

NT representatives: Joel Jeffrey and Malcolm Rosas

NT goals: Rosas (1)

Vic Metro vs Allies
10:30am Friday 28 June
GMHBA Stadium, Geelong

Allies 11.4.70 defeated Vic Metro 10.8.68

NT representatives: Joel Jeffrey, Ben Jungfer, and Malcolm Rosas

NT goals: Rosas (2)

South Australia vs Allies
4:40pm Wednesday 3 July
Marvel stadium, Melbourne
* Fox broadcast game

NT representatives: Joel Jeffrey, Ben Jungfer, and Malcolm Rosas

NT goals: Rosas (2)

For more information on the AFL Under 18s visit the AFL website or download the NAB League app onto your device. 

How do you qualify for this squad?

Athletes are identified through local leagues and can be nominated by someone from their club. They may also be invited to participate in the Under 18s program following participating in the Under 16s squad.  Once the Under 18s have completed the NAB League games against quality opposition (formerly TAC Cup), a representative team known as the Allies is selected to participate in the AFL National Championships against Victoria Country, Victoria Metro, Western Australia and South Australia. 

Thanks to our 2019 sponsor